2017 Club Rugby Champions

Well what a way to finish the 2017 season! A fantastic win against Coastal in the Final by 17 to 14, as we complete our 125th Jubilee year. Congratulations to our Premiers; our only team to make the Finals for 2017.

Some interesting historical facts for you:

  • This 2017 Premier Team win, means Tukapa has now won 16 Senior A titles since 1892.
  • This year’s win means we have now won the Senior A Title (The McMasters Shield) six times in sixteen seasons (2001-2017)
  • Tukapa Premiers (Senior A) have won the Taranaki Championship (McMasters Shield) ‘back to back’ three times -1968 & 1969; 2010 & 2011; & now 2016 & 2017.
  • Jack Cameron is the only player to have been a member of five  Premier (Senior A) Tukapa championship winning teams.
  • This years Premier  title brings the total success rate for all Tukapa afternoon grades since 1892 to 71 Championships.